Transformers 4 Movie Set | Detroit

Transformers Movie Set Location

Hollywood Invades Detroit

One afternoon, while riding my bike, I stumble upon a construction site in downtown Detroit.  The site is active with cranes swinging and workers pouring foundations, building wooden framework, connecting metal beams and erecting walls.   I’m a bit confused about what’s going on, because there’s no sign and the construction looks really strange.  I approach someone behind the fence on a smoke break and I’m told the construction is a movie set for Transformers 4.  The completed set will resemble an apocalyptic city scene in Hong Kong, China.  The movie debuts in theaters on June 27, 2014.

A few days ago, I went back and snapped these photos of the progress made on the movie set.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out my update here.

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Detroit, Entertainment, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Transformers 4 Movie Set | Detroit

  1. C. Rae I am sooooo jealous! Transformers takes me wayyyyyyy back to when I was a wee lad. I had the Optimus Prime action figure along with a few other figures. Will there be traffic issues? Hey you should see about being a extra!

    p.s. Look at you being all “green” and riding your bike. You are too cool, just too cool!

    • C. Rae White says:

      I wasn’t surprised to find out that the set was for the Transformers movie. For whatever reason they seem to really like shooting in Detroit. I asked what will happen when they shoot and was told that the whole area will be blocked off.

      I’d caught the acting bug in high school, but I wouldn’t be a good extra, I hate waiting.

      OMG! I love riding my bike, it’s so much fun! On my last excursion, I ran into another film shoot at Campus Martius in front of the Compuware Building. I tried taking photos, but they were prohibited. The film is called, “The Need For Speed”, a street racing action flick. They had Woodward Ave. blocked off on both sides of Campus Martius Park and crowd wranglers everywhere.

      I had another brush with Hollywood, in a place where I never expected to encounter a film shoot, on my regular bike route a few weeks ago that I’ll probably post about later.

  2. Pingback: Transformers 4 Detroit | UPDATE | Life is Good

Leave a Reply

