Detroit Cycling | Paths Mapped with Google Map Maker

Mapping the Motor City with Google Map Maker

Hailed as the birthplace of the automotive revolution, the city of Detroit, Mich. is taking its transportation legacy down new paths. As Detroit embraces a greener, non-motorized outlook, cycling is steadily increasing in popularity. The Michigan Trails and Greenways Alliance is facilitating this transition by creating an interconnected statewide system of trails and greenways, including the development of bike paths throughout the Detroit area…PLEASE READ MORE.

Source | http://googleblog.blogspot.co

C. Rae Says:  I had a wonderful time riding my bike through east side, downtown and midtown Detroit last summer.  I hit the streets about three times per week and averaged between 15 and 25 miles per ride.   Some of my favorite sightseeing and resting spots are Indian Village,  the Riverwalk, Campus Martius, Greektown, Lafayette Park, Corktown, Cass and Willis, WSU, Eastern Market and Historic Elmwood Cemetery.  Also, one of the fun aspects of bike riding in Detroit is the Dequinder Cut as it provides a direct route across the downtown area and is a safe and speedy run.  I look forward to doing it all again next summer.

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Detroit, Organizations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Detroit Cycling | Paths Mapped with Google Map Maker

  1. man, reminds of a bike path I’ve been taking to Jones Beach the past couple of summers. I’ve been slacking this summer though, I’ve only gone biking once.

    • C. Rae White says:

      I got a new bike this past spring and I’ve caught the biking bug! I’ve biked through the Eastside, Historic Elmwood Cemetery, Riverfront/Downtown, Corktown and Midtown Detroit this summer. I average between 15 and 25 miles a trip and hope to continue through November (depending on the weather). I wish we had a large beach to bike through, but our waterfront access is pretty cool too.

Leave a Reply

