Natural Black Hair | Janelle Monae

Natural Black Hair

“One of my core values is to help redefine what it means to be a strong and beautiful woman in the music and fashion worlds and to empower the wonderful things that make us unique.”  Janelle Monae

C. Rae Says:

Maybe things are changing a little bit.  I’m elated that the very talented, natural hair beauty, Janelle Monae is one of the new spokesmodels for Covergirl 2012.

Photo source | Soul Bounce via Fashion Bomb Daily/Tumblr
Quote source | Peoplestylewatch.com

Based upon a comment from my friend chocolate_matters regarding Olympic athlete Gabby Douglass being shamed about her hair; I posted a link to an article that highlights the issue, a related twitter debate and Gabby’s mother’s remark about her hair care (in my comment reply) and this video of spoken word poetry by Jasmine Waiters who puts things into perspective.

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fashion, Styln Sez... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Natural Black Hair | Janelle Monae

  1. speaking of black hair, you read how people were picking on Gabby Douglas’ hair at the olympics?

    • C. Rae White says:

      I expected that, because gymnasts (and their fans) are very obsessed with their hair and it’s style (how it’s pulled back and what’s used to keep it neat and in place). Since Gabby’s hair wasn’t perfectly pulled back and neat, she wasn’t the picture of gymnastic perfection. I wish more black gymnasts would show more black pride and go natural (at least during competition). It would be a revolution if black gymnasts would stop trying to conform to the white standard of beauty and embrace their natural attributes. Also, she’s such a huge talent (nearly perfect in her execution) they had to find something about her to make fun of (to knock her down a few notches). Check out this article: http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2012-08-08/gabby-douglass-olympic-win-could-spur-more-gymnastics-diversity

      Also, Chocolate thanks so much for liking the Janelle Monae photo from Soul Bounce/Fashion Bomb Daily on your tumblr. I snatched it for this post. BTW: The comics on your tumblr are really funny, keep up the great work!

  2. You are very much welcome. I just love, love, love Janelle Monae. Girl has genes of Michael Jackson, Prince, and James Brown wrapped in that little body of hers.
    I had been meaning to tell you about tumblr. I was recommended to it by a fellow blogger we both know (Jebelleami). I like the ease of use for posting pictures and video from the web. I found it a little confusing to follow at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes second nature. Yes, you found out I have an addiction to comics, can’t help my geeky self. Peace.

    • C. Rae White says:

      I think Janelle Monae will be the next big music star. This cosmetics campaign will really help to greatly expand her name recognition and fan based. I can’t wait to see her in films, I believe she’ll make it big in entertainment, she got STAR written all over her.

      I’m also considering a tumblr for all my blog photos and such, not sure though.

  3. I strongly recommend tumblr for sharing of photos and videos. It’s such a snap to post. The only thing is you won’t have comments (unless you add disqus) or statistics (unless you add something like google analytics). People will like and reblog your content and can leave messages that way.
    I will still use wordpress for for my more wordy blogs, tumblr is more for like something I want to post quickly and succinctly.
    Peace.

  4. Shoe Closzet says:

    Hey I finally had a chance to stop by since I moved my site. As usuaI I love the posts. All the convo about Gabby’s hair was ridiculous. I am natural and although I love it, it’s alot of work . BUT I wouldn’t trade it!
    I have relaunched my blog stop by and let me know what you think…it’s still http://shoecloszet.com

  5. Global Premiere Blog says:

    I absolutely love this post. It’s so sad that someone can be put down because of the type of hair they have. As India Arie sings it – “I am not my hair…I am the soul that lives within”

    Keep the posts coming
    Global Premiere Blog

Leave a Reply

