Prabal Gurung Draped Silk-Faille Dress

FNO: Grace Jones

FNO: Grace Jones by styln featuring a draped dress

Grace Jones is a proven triple threat as a top model, artist and photographer’s muse, an acclaimed film actress and pop singer with a cult following.  She is truly the “Queen of Drama” and the personification of style.  Her beauty is timeless and she continues to be as enigmatic and artistically relevant as ever.  Ms. Jones is truly a fashion trail-blazer and I admire her authenticity, total self confidence and her ability to mesmerize.  I’m transfixed every time I see her perform, whether on stage or screen. She is a multi-dimensional icon and an inspirational muse for the world.

I styled her in this voluminous Prabal Gurung red draped silk-faille dress. The term faille means a closely woven, slightly ribbed fabric, in this case silk. I imagine her causing a frenzied scene strutting the red carpet at some huge event. Red looks good on just about anyone and Ms. Jones’ deep chocolate tone would make this frock pop. This full skirted, knotted and cut-out design is a revealing, yet classic silhouette.  I paired it with an exciting pair of Giuseppe Zanotti jeweled cuff sandals, a Christian Louboutin “Sweety Charity” metallic python bag and other edgy pieces in an attempt to evoke that edgy Grace Jones style.

Prabal Gurung dress

Prabal Gurung dress (see more twist dresses)

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Prabal Gurung Draped Silk-Faille Dress

  1. Mila says:

    Love your choices! Prabal is one of my favorite designers.

  2. Styln says:

    Thanks! I love making dramatic over-the-top fashion sets. Grace Jones gives me the chance to flex my fashion styling muscles.

  3. This dress is gorgeous! Just like Grace Jones it’s fiery, dramatic, and bold.

  4. noirai says:

    I love the look you’ve put up here 😀
    The dress is gorgeous and the Zanotti’s , they’re always exquisite !.

    http://noirai.wordpress.com/

  5. Jennifer says:

    Totally love this look so Hollywood Glamour! Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

  6. Styln says:

    Thanks sooo much for all your comments!

  7. Lady bonbon says:

    that dress is AMAZING… is it very expensive or do I have to rob a store to get it?

Leave a Reply

