Dolce & Gabbana Alphabet Print Dress

City Style Chic

 80’s Fashion Rocks!

I sooo loved the 80’s!  It was a crazy and exciting time when I ran wild and free following my heart and chasing my dreams. In between the parties, concerts and club hopping, I pursued my dream of singing. I’d worked my way through a few girl groups and a couple local bands, before cutting demos with a group of talented P-Funk producers at Don Davis’ legendary Groovesville & United Sound recording studios in Detroit, MI.

When Warner Brothers Records picked up the project, that replaced a previous defunct “Federation of the Tackheads” production deal we were to be called “Tackhead” or “The Tackheads.”  Due to internal record company legal issues over the ownership of the name, I came up with the band name “INCorporated Thang Band (ITB).” Funk masters Bootsie Collins and George Clinton executive produced “Lifestyles of the Roach and Famous,” ITB’s only LP.  The LP comprised of music by various P-Funk All Stars members was basically finished when us girls and our band leader laid vocal tracks. The last minute studio sessions didn’t bother me, as I was happy to be a part of the group. I laid down background and co-lead vocals on several cuts and was surprised at the quality of my performance having no previous exposure to the tracks.

We shot the video for the first single Body Jackin’ in Los Angeles, CA at Tommy Chong’s film studio. Us girls were the main focus of the story line, but we complained about not being included the performance segment. We protested being made to look like background singers and not group members. George Clinton informed us that the group format would change and we’d become the main focus, if the LP didn’t do well.  I never counted on it, because there had been other P-Funk girl groups with few LP’s and very short careers. The record company withheld any substantial marketing support and we got only one weird video with little radio or television play. The album went gold, but the band folded and my dream ended.

Overall, I spent about 6 years pursuing a career in the music industry learning a lot and living out part of my dream. In the meantime, we had lots of fun putting together crazy outfits, wearing flashy jewelry, lots of makeup and really big hair. I was an 80’s fashionista, rocking every Body Glove, Swatch, Ocean Pacific, Norma Kamali, Guess, Betsy Johnson and Fiorucci dress I could. We wore ripped jeans, rubber dresses, stilettos, big earrings and body chains. I wore long nails, heavy eyeliner and glossy clown lips. Our style was heavily influenced by punk rock, Prince and Madonna. The only thing I have left of those crazy days are four ear piercings, three on one ear and one on the other. I’ll forever miss the fun and excitement of the 1980’s! The “Me Decade” may be over, but the best of 80’s fashion will never die!

Gianmarco Lorenzi sandals

Gianmarco Lorenzi sandals (see more platform high heels)

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fashion, Personal, Polyvore and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dolce & Gabbana Alphabet Print Dress

  1. Pingback: Alexander McQueen Pleated Leather Dress | Life is Good

  2. Pingback: OMG! I’ve been… | Life is Good

  3. chocolate says:

    I had no idea you had a record deal and went gold. So where can one get a copy of that album, huh?

Leave a Reply

