The Silent Sorrow Of The Enfranchised Slave

In Honor Of Black History Month 2011

I found the poem below in the “In Memorium Book” for Abraham Lincoln.  It was added to the book from “The Buffalo Advertiser.”  It’s appearance in the Buffalo Advertiser was in memorium of Abraham Lincoln and is dated May 3, 1865.  I think the use of the word enfranchised is a total contradiction, only my opinion.  Anyway, just another historical tidbit.  Click the death notice to read the book.

Lincoln’s Negro Policy

Source:  In Memoriam: Abraham Lincoln

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in African American History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Silent Sorrow Of The Enfranchised Slave

  1. Rhapsody says:

    Blessings….

    I can say so much here but I think the best statement would be hmmmmmmmmm.. as its all been said in the poem.

    Thank s for sharing

  2. chocolate says:

    I’ll be honest I only get some of this poem. I have read it several time and I dunno maybe it is the lingo from that era but I am just not understanding what they are trying to say. Like the death of the lincoln will in turn give slaves their rights?

  3. Styln says:

    I agree! And, this is part of the folklore that made subsequent generations of African Americans believe that Old Abe was the savior of the race, without actually knowing his views on what to do with the slaves after the civil war ended.

    He believed that slavery was wrong, but he also believed that Africans should be sent back to Africa and not assimilated (made full citizens with full rights) into American society with reparations for slavery.

    This poem was a part of his funeral rights and was suggested for publication.

  4. chocolate says:

    I am glad you clarified that about good ole Abe. Republicans are quick to say to us that they are the party of Lincoln as if that is something they should be proud of. You schooled me on that piece about what Lincoln wanted to after the civil war with all the freed slaves.

  5. Styln says:

    Check this out. The Journal of Negro History, Carter G. Woodson. Lincoln’s Plan for Colonizing Emancipated Negroes by Charles H. Wesley.

    http://www.archive.org/stream/journalnegrohis01incgoog

  6. I am just beginning to take a serious interest in politics for the very first time in my life, and it’s funny how I just read this today, because on the weekend while I was helping to make dinner, there was a program on TV regarding how Abe Lincoln’s guys could not make heads or tails of what carrying their aim through was all about, so in essence, from what I gather from this documentary from the few short minutes I was listening to it, was that they somehow were contradicting themselves, as you are implying. As for the word “obsequies” or whatever it says up there in italics, I have never come across this word and I am pretty well versed in the English language. Also ENFRANCHISED sounds somewhat strange to me as well & to me, is an insult toward slaves, and just as you seem to be getting differing messages from this poem, so am I. I do love the poem though & it is well worth sharing with the world.

  7. Styln says:

    I agree! Many things about America’s past are hard to understand and bare, even today. We as a people must continue to work through the past to come to a better understanding of what actually happen and why. Through this process, I believe we’ll come to understand and accept how connected and interelated we actually are. We need this sort of information to tear down the wall of racial polarization that has gripped this nation from it’s beginnings.

    The word obsequies means, funeral rites: rites or ceremonies carried out at a funeral.

Leave a Reply

