Hydroplane Races & Jet Fly Over | Detroit

F/A 18F Super Hornet Fly By

Detroit APBA Gold Cup Racing has been a very popular annual event for decades and this year was no exception.  In the recent past, we’ve viewed the final heat from the Detroit Yacht Club docks, across from the Roostertail grand stand.  It’s extremely exhilarating to experience the immense power of those thunderous hydroplanes zoom by the docks, bouncing out of the turn…WOW!

This year, I watched from home, an F/A Super Hornet fighter jet perform tricks for race fans . It’s somewhat terrifying to see a fighter jet zoom by just above or in front your house.  The ear popping roar vibrates the house, making your body shutter and tingle with fear; and each time it streaked by I practically jumped out of my skin.  After the first pass, I ran outside to see the next approach and vertical ascent, culminating in a dramatic maneuver.  A few passes gave me a clear view of the pilot and the jet’s under belly.  Every time it looped back around I waved with excitement, an experience I’ll never forget.

Below are three videos, two of them show what the race is like, the last is a very brief clip of an F/A 18F Super Hornet performing for the race fans.  I’ve also included my bad photos from a third floor window.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Video Source | https://www.gold-cup.com/https://www.youtube.com/

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Detroit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hydroplane Races & Jet Fly Over | Detroit

  1. chocolate_matters says:

    That looks like a lot of fun. I love speed in almost anything (except motorcycles).

  2. C. Rae White says:

    Me too! To be sooo close to such a big things going over 100mph is a BIG thrill.

Leave a Reply

