Ribs & Ragtime in Amherstburg Ontario


Nazrey AME Church 3

Juneteenth Celebration | Amherstburg Ontario, Canada

On Saturday June 19th I attended the annual Juneteenth celebration at the Amherstburg Freedom Museum, with my cousin Pamela. We are proud descendants of the Underground Railroad. In 1836, our Binga ancestors escaped slavery from Newport, Campbell County Kentucky, via ferry boat, a horse drawn wagon and two steam boats, landing in Amherstburg after a six day journey. Our ancestor, Rev. Anthony Binga Sr. “The Walking Preacher” founded the Amherstburg First Baptist Church, that served as an underground railroad mission until slavery ended.

Nazrey AME Church 2The annual Juneteenth emancipation celebration took place on a hot summer’s day, amid the grounds of the museum (formerly named the North American Black Historical Museum & Cultural Center) and Nazery African Methodist Episcopal AME Church . The well attended event included other UGRR descendants and friends, a ragtime band played lively tunes while everyone enjoyed barbecue chicken and rib dinners from Smoke & Spice Southern Barbecue located in Windsor. We mingled with our cousins and others, toured the historic Nazrey Church and the Amherstburg Freedom Museum. We were delighted to see our 3rd great grandfather’s name (William W. Binga) on a pay roll list for the Canadian Rebellion of 1837-38. We had a wonderful time and hope to go back for the annual parade.

Nazrey AME Church & Amherstburg Freedom Museum Photo Source: monkeys4ever at waymarking.com

 

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in African American History, Family Research, Genealogy, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ribs & Ragtime in Amherstburg Ontario

  1. Chocolate Matters says:

    wow, what a rich history you have.

  2. C. Rae White says:

    Thanks! The more research we do the more we’re blow away. I just found out that our ggg grandfather William W. Binga was a member of the Canadian Black Militia during the Rebellion of 1838 under Josiah Henson.

  3. Xanthea says:

    Isn’t it fun researching the family tree? I did a bit of it on ancestry.com and it is so interesting! Have fun finding out more!! X 🙂

  4. C. Rae White says:

    I think it’s the most fulfilling and exciting thing I’ve ever done!

  5. Cherish says:

    I’m catching up on your summer posts that I missed! This is so AWESOME! Its cool to be able to learn more about your family background.

  6. Christina Green says:

    Do you know Barbara Hughes-Smith?

  7. Pingback: International Underground Railroad Conference | Celebrating the River at Midnight | Life is Good

  8. Pingback: The Underground Railroad and the Legacy of Black Resistance | The Wright Museum, Detroit | Life is Good

  9. Mark says:

    Hello there! I’m doing some research for an article on Anthony Binga Jr. I have no familial/genealogical connection, but I find the history fascinating!

    I *almost* went to this event, but didn’t end up going.

    In researching for my article, I’ve discovered that Anthony Jr. took up a church in Washington, DC in the mid 1870s. And then, in 1876, apparently he left and returned to Amherstburg. I have no clue how long he stayed…. Perhaps just for a short time? I presume he was back in VA well before 1900. He clearly was back in Virginia by the 1910s and, indeed, died there. So, I’m wondering, how long did he stay in Amherstburg when he returned there in 1876? I wonder if you may be able to shed nay light on that?

    Anyways, all the best.

    Mark
    Ontario, Canada

Leave a Reply

