Betty Davis Honored in Detroit

The Original Funky Diva!

Betty Davis made a big impact on the first half of my life.  As a teen, I wanted to dress like her, sing like her and be like her.  I spent the better part of my teens and twenties trying to emulate her style and channeling the essence of her talent and rock appeal.  She is the main reason I wanted (and attempted) to take my place on the stage.  I never got to see her perform live on stage, but her music alone made me want to chase my dream of a career in music.

She will be honored with a concert this weekend at the Charles H. Wright, Museum of African-American History in Detroit.  Check out the following Detroit News article that gives background info on Betty Davis and details of the concert tribute.

‘Black Women Rock!’ pays tribute to Betty Davis

Ursula Watson / The Detroit News

The lady in your life is a strong, tell it like it is, take no jive kind of person and you love it.

What better way to spend an evening than celebrating a woman with similar attributes than to attend the Charles H. Wright Museum of African-American History’s two-day music, art and poetry event, “Black Women Rock!: Tribute to Betty Davis,” Saturday and Sunday.

“Black Women Rock!” will feature women of color who believe in breaking out of the mold and ignoring stereotypes just as Davis did with her music in the ’70s.

Source: The Detroit News

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Detroit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Betty Davis Honored in Detroit

  1. Je says:

    Thanks for the memories!

  2. C. Rae White says:

    Hey Je! Thanks for stopping by! I’m so glad you enjoyed this post!

  3. Sheldon says:

    I remember her very well . . . .

  4. C. Rae White says:

    Hey Sheldon! Great hearing from you! I hope things are well with you! I have such great memories of that time in my life. I’m so grateful that there was somebody in the public eye that I could admire and marvel at. She was sooooo awesome!

Leave a Reply

