The Fashion Industry Won’t Use Black Models but…..

They Will Paint white models BLACK and people have the nerve to call it BRILLIANTLY CREATIVE, STUNNING and REALLY ATTRACTIVE….In my opinion, these photos do not (and could never) compare to the TRUE BEAUTY of NATURAL BLACKNESS.  Blackface is still alive and kickin’ in the good ole USA and all over the world!

NOTE | Regarding the above link, the comments section for trendhunter.com posts has been eliminated.

Photo Source | http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/blackened-models-shooting-all-black-editorials

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Fashion Industry Won’t Use Black Models but…..

  1. chocolate_matters says:

    While I am all for artistic creativity, I too agree that for them to call these attractive or stunning is not right. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and unfortunately I find these image rather revolting to say the least.

  2. C. Rae White says:

    You’re sooo right! And, it’s funny that the model represents the white standard of beauty. These photos are ugly and an insult to true black beauty. Mainstream media and white society consistently co-ops black beauty and culture for their pleasure, but in the greater scheme of things, has no respect for blackness and black people in general. Blacks have always appeared in mainstream media, advertising and popular culture in animalistic and demeaning characterizations looking like monkeys with bugged out eyes, huge lips and mis-shapened bodies; always exaggerating features and jestures in an effort to demonize and discredit black humanity. Now, in the name of fashion, blackness, natural black beauty/idenity is painted-on and called “wonderfully creative and stunning” while, blacks continue to be hated, disrespected and disenfranchised as a whole. What a delusional and self centered point of view.

  3. Cherish says:

    Wow… those pics are so out of line and not "beautiful". I guess its considered art or something…. but tasteful art? no.

  4. Sheldon says:

    C. Rae your response to Mr. "C" was right on point – Excellent – In remembrance, I think that on the first inaugural of President Reagan in 1981, singer, actor, dancer and Broadway actor Ben Vereen did a Black face routine and he went immediately to my Blacklist of people period! – He can do nothing right in my book – He can win 50 Nobel Peace Prizes and he’s still is a bastard –

  5. chocolate_matters says:

    He did what?!? He must have sold his soul…what a shame.

  6. C. Rae White says:

    Sheldon: I remember that performance….I said, what the hell!@&$!#Cherish: Hey girl! Thanks for stopping by! I agree, not beautiful or tasteful, just a mockery.

  7. chocolate_matters says:

    Now "yall" got me scrambling to go find a youtube video of this "act"…

  8. chocolate_matters says:

    spooky, and speak of the devil…Ben Vereen was at the homegoing service of a gospel singer from my area-http://tinyurl.com/colnrc

  9. chocolate_matters says:

    Not finding any videos but I do see references to his black face performance at Reagan’s inauguration. You something though I am reading about his personal tragedies after that performance (death of his daughter, addiction to cocaine) and it makes me think, karma has a way of coming back at you.

  10. C. Rae White says:

    Heeey, hey, hey! I hear you loud and clear!!! It’s also very interesting to me how hyper-sexualized the model’s appearance is all covered in black…unnecessarily naked and not at all sexy!

Leave a Reply

