NAACP Crisis Magazine Political Cartoons | Early 1900’s

Source | Google Books

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in African American History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NAACP Crisis Magazine Political Cartoons | Early 1900’s

  1. Sheldon says:

    I have this book in my collection entitled: – "Without Sanctuary – Lynching Photograhy in America" by James Allen, Hilton Als, Congressman John Lewis and Leon F. Litwack / 2000 Twin Palms Publishers – I’ll think it will be necessary to add to my book list –

  2. chocolate_matters says:

    Ah yes, I did research on this back during college. Lynching was a very big problem for black folk in the late 1800s into the 20th Century. I remember seeing pictures during my research of white folk posing with the hanging body like it was a trophy. Truly sickening as I saw it then and still disturbs me to this very day.

  3. C. Rae White says:

    I saw an old PBS profile about Ida B. Wells the other day and it showed photos of lynchings where there were close to ten thousand people who came to see it. They treated it like a form of entertainment…they even brought their children to revel in the murder and race hate.

Leave a Reply

