Avant-Garde Afros

 

Sculptural Afro’s from the “Eclipse” fashion editorial in Volt Magazine.

Photo Source | http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/eclipse-volt-magazine

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Avant-Garde Afros

  1. Sheldon says:

    Magnificent !!

  2. chocolate_matters says:

    Talking about the ultimate fro! Dyn-o-mite!

  3. Sheldon says:

    All – My mother was cleaning out her hall linen closet and found my old "Blow-Out" Comb (LMMFAO) – She did not find the attachments, but I took it back home –

  4. C. Rae White says:

    I guess Angelia Davis didn’t know what she started. I loved it when Black folks wore great big beautiful afros.

  5. chocolate_matters says:

    Remember the afro picks with the black fists…I think every black family had one-lol

  6. C. Rae White says:

    Sheldon X: Blow Out Comb!…Irememberdat!….Back in 1977, when I went to prom, I made sure my boyfriend got a fresh blow out, trim and a line.Choc: I remember seeing many boys and men walkin’ around with their Black Power afro picks stickin’ outta those naturals and fro’s. When I wore my Angelia Davis Super-fo, I wore a cheese cutter (a real one that I stole from my grandmothers house) on one side of my fro at school. My mother had a fit and took me to the beauty shop and got me a French perm. Needless to say, I was out done.

  7. Sheldon says:

    Styln and Mr. "C" – This was during my Junior High School days in the 70’s – It as a sheer chore to stand in the dining room mirror (my mother was a High School Teacher and getting ready in the main bathroom) & get myself together for school –

  8. chocolate_matters says:

    excuse my ignorance but I did not know they called those things "blow out combs". I’ve only known them as "afro picks". Hey you learn something new everyday.

  9. C. Rae White says:

    Well, Blow out Combs are electric Afro pressing combs/pics. You plug it in, it gets hot and you then carfully pick out your fro to the fullest extent. In the barbershop, they would wash, condition and blow dry (thus blowing it out) the fro before cutting and styling it. I’m sure that was before your time.

  10. chocolate_matters says:

    oh…now I know…thanks.

  11. C. Rae White says:

    Sheldon: I can see you perfecting that fro every morning…I’m sure all the girls appreciated your hard work!

  12. Cherish says:

    Wow! These are some cool pics! I set my hair in an afro one time a few years ago.. never again, The process was fun (and funny) but afterward… UGH

  13. C. Rae White says:

    My hair won’t go into the afro anymore:( So, I just wear my natural waves and call it an afro;) I’m still waiting for the afro to make a real comeback….I think the closest we’ve come to it in that past few decades is the high top fade (Kid and Play style).

Comments are closed.