Roast Resturant at the Book Cadillac Hotel Detroit

Last Friday night we went to Roast at the Westin Book Cadillac Hotel on Washington Boulevard here in Detroit.  The bar decor is modern, moody, sleek and upscale.  We were seated in a comfortable booth in a separate dining room adjacent to large picture windows facing Washington Blvd.

Just about everything on the menu is roasted, hence the name Roast.  Several roasters flank the dining area and the kitchen is also on view.  We enjoyed great service from our server who had two very attentive assistants.

I ordered roasted whitefish with roasted crab and mac & cheese, ooh yummy!  My boyfriend had the filet (with sha sha sauce) and fried brussel sprouts.  We shared the roasted shrimp appetizer, it came with white beans, pork sausage and tomato sauce, very tasty.  Jazz music wafted through the dining room and the place got really busy as the night went on.  The atmosphere is hip and trendy, the drinks are robust and the food is very flavorful.  Overall, I had a wonderful time and hope to go back to Roast very soon!

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Detroit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Roast Resturant at the Book Cadillac Hotel Detroit

  1. chocolate_matters says:

    Seems like a nice setting looking at the pics you provided. What kind of mac and cheese though? Crusty or one that is not so crusty?

  2. Sheldon says:

    Sounds like a very fine (upscale) dining experience – Fried Brussel Sprouts !! Yuck – I hate Brussel Sprouts !! (LOL) –

  3. the_wordsmith says:

    Sounds like my kind of place. I love the mod decor and all of the glass. Detroit – here I come! Well . . . sooner or later. Peace.

  4. chocolate_matters says:

    Sheldon…I am SHOCKED…you sound like a kid whose momma is forcing them to eat their vegetables.–lol. I too question that one though C. Rae, I am not a fan of Brussel sprouts either, but fried…I dunno.

  5. Cherish says:

    I hear that place is sooo nice!! Wanted to go during this past weekend but didn’t have time. The roasted white fish sounds sooooo good!

  6. C. Rae White says:

    Choc: I didn’t really like the fried brussel sprouts, but I ate them anyway (the presentation was nice though). The mac and cheese was creamy with no crust on top, it was really good, but not like home made soul food style. @Cherish: Girl, the white fish was the best I’ve ever had, you should try it. @Sheldon: I like brussel sprouts, but the fried crispy ones, not really my fav. @Word: I’m sure you’ll fit right in here in Detroit!

  7. chocolate_matters says:

    mmmm…home made mac and cheese with the cheesy (and sometimes burnt) crust. I could tear that up all day!

  8. Sheldon says:

    Chocolate – Generally speaking I cannot eat cooked veggies (gag reflex) – When I was young, my mother forced my sister and I to eat brussel sprouts, so I would cram them in my mouth and excuse myself to go to the bathroom and throw-it up until my mother caught on – Now I will "raid" a salad bar – The only cooked veggies I can eat are green beans, corn & sautéed zucchini & squash (LMMFAO)

  9. C. Rae White says:

    Sheldon: What about collard greens cooked with hot peppers (and other savory spices), onions and smoked turkey. Simmered in chicken broth and served with fresh diced onions and sliced tomato. Man you don’t know what you’re missing! You should go to a great soul food joint and try it, you might change your mind….maybe?

  10. Sheldon says:

    C. Rae – Thanx for reminding me – I do eat "greens" w/all of the spices, onions, and peppers!! (back in the day w/pork hock & now w/smoked turkey) – I have been eating greens all of my life along w/grits & cornbread – (LOL) !! – Also "black" in the day – Neckbones, Oxtails, BBQ Pig Feet (& tails) , Southmeat on crackers, ChowChow, Fried Chicken backs, Chitlins (Yuck!! No More), Pinto Beans, Great Northern Beans, Black-Eyed Peas, Butter Beans, Brains & Scrambled Eggs, Liver & Onions/Rice (still the best & good left over for breakfast) All kinds of fish – etc etc – I eat alot better now and thanx for bringing up those wonderful memories !! (LOL)

  11. chocolate_matters says:

    So uh, C. Rae is that in invitation? Cuz you know I could eat some collard greens w/ some spices and smoke turkey right know.-lolsheldon, Collard greens w/ grits…hmmm never had that before I am more of an eggs and grits type of man. I am used to collard greens cooked with neckbone. I am not and never was a pig feet or chitlins man. What the heck is southmeat? Sautéed zucchini?!?

  12. C. Rae White says:

    Sheldon: I’ve had fried grits with spicy shrimp but, never with greens. Never heard of Southmeat…what’s that? I’ve had chow chow with scrambled eggs, really good! And I could to tear up some BBQ pigs feet (back in the day). I tasted chitlins on two occassions and got sick both times, don’t like them at all…not even with hot sauce. Liver & onions was my fav meal during my thirties and I love blackeyed peas (hoppin john), and peas & rice (red beans and rice), White bean and black bean soup. Honey, I love food and I can eat!!! Never had brains and I don’t want them either…tee hee!Choc: You so funny! I could go for some too!

  13. Sheldon says:

    C. Rae & Chocolate – South meat is what’s left over from various sources of the pig &/or the cow – Similar to the strangest lunch meat you will ever see in the grocery store – My paternal grandparents (both deceased and missed) are from rural Georgia – I normally will have grits only for breakfast – C. Rae – I love Black Bean soup and Liver’n onions w/rice I could eat weekly.

  14. Cherish says:

    Yal make me miss those days when I lived in Tennessee…. there a few restaurants in Detroit that definitely came close, and I found a couple here in Chicago…. but those places down there were GREAT!…and I too was confused on the Southmeat…. wow…

  15. C. Rae White says:

    Sheldon: Looks like you’ve had a rich history in soul food. Do you have any fav Brazillian foods or spices?

  16. chocolate_matters says:

    Sheldon, thanks for the explaination of "southmeat". as for grits, that is probably where I got my love for them too since I had grandparents from a very rural part of GA near the Alabama border.

  17. Sheldon says:

    C. Rae – No Brazilian foods or spices yet –

  18. Pingback: Today’s Heartland Hipster

Leave a Reply

