Vogue Italia Emphasizes Black Models in July Issue

Multicultural Models – Vogue Italia Emphasizes Black Models

(TREND HUNTER) I was pleasantly surprised to discover that Vogue Italia’s July issue will feature an almost all-black cast of models which will include British modeling sensation, 17-year-old Jourdan Dunn. The Edi… [More]

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vogue Italia Emphasizes Black Models in July Issue

  1. the says:

    Bravo and about time.  Peace.

  2. c says:

    Yes, it was about time. Not if only they would not make it a one a year or decade event that would be even better.  I know, I know, progress is sometimes slow.

  3. Styln says:

    The current fashion blackout has been really hard on black models over the past couple of years.  The only mainstream designer that used multiple Black models during this season’s fashion week was Heatherette.  Bethann Hardison (legendary Black Model and Agent) hosted a town hall meeting to discuss the lack of Black models in the mainstream fashion industry. Hopefully this will help to get some designers to stop the hate. The following url is an article about the movement….http://www.papermag.com/blogs/2007/09/talkin_about_a_revolution.php

  4. c says:

    Yeah, I was just reading this article on imdb.com about Tyra Bank trials and tribulation in the modeling business.  Being black and having curve caused her not be be hired by many companies. To heck with them, they don’t know anything about real women at all. I was looking for the article they are referring to on the NYT but I am unable to locate it.

Comments are closed.