Eliminate Hanger Waste

No eco-hangups with Ditto Hangers

Posted by: Jeannie Choe on Tuesday, December 11 2007

While we make a grand effort to chuck our soda cans and water bottles in the appropriate bins, those sneaky, evil, leftover hangers are often forgotten in the masses of trash:

Plastic and wire hangers have become so commonplace in the retail environment that they have become virtually invisible. That is until it’s time to dispose of them. Municipal recyclers won’t and can’t take them. Made of 7 different types of low-grade plastic (if marked at all), they are extremely difficult to identify and segregate on a rapidly moving recycling line. Made from multiple materials (plastic, wire, non-slip vinyl pads, etc.) the components are costly to separate. Most of all wire hooks are notorious for jamming the lofting cams in expense recycling machinery, bringing entire recycling lines to a grinding halt.

Ditto Hangers, produced by Greenheart Global, are designed to keep hangers out of landfills. The 100% recyclable paper and PET plastic hangers are targeted toward retail environments and non-toxic dry cleaners.

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Eco Trends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eliminate Hanger Waste

  1. Sheldon says:

    I always recycle my hangers at the cleaners – Great idea! –

  2. Joelle says:

    My cleaners has offered me a few bucks for return of hangers.  I haven’t taken them up on their offers as yet, but, as much as I use the cleaners, I should be.  Peace.

  3. C. Rae White says:

    Blackstarr: If you don’t need the money, you could save it (in your checking account/interest accumilation) and give it away every year to your favorite charity. Just an idea!

  4. Chocolate Matters says:

    Speaking of non toxic  dry cleaner, I was looking for an alternative to the regular dry cleaners since I have read that they all used perchloroethylene also called perc, and it has been said to that this stuff can be harmful if you have extended exposure.  I read from the treehugger website that there other alternatives to dry cleaning such as liquid CO2 method adn silicone solvent based method.  I couldn’t find any nearby that use the environmentally friendly methods so I bought a Dryel starter kit and plan on using that to dry clean the clothes that need it.

  5. C. Rae White says:

    Chocolate: I think Dryel is a good idea.  People don’t realize how dangerous dry cleaning chemicals are.  Do you remember when Lionel Richie was poisioned by his freshly dry cleaned stage costume?  The clothes have to be aired out (without the plastic bag in a well ventilated area) for at least 4 to 6 hours before they are worn.

  6. Chocolate Matters says:

    No I didn’t hear of that about Lionel Richie.  I had no idea how dangerous dry cleaning can be.

Leave a Reply

