Starches raise diabetes risk in Blacks and Chinese

Photo Source: Clutch Magazine
Article Source:  Yahoo News via Reuters

Starches raise diabetes risk in Blacks and Chinese

Mon Nov 26, 4:13 PM ET

Starchy foods such as white rice and bread raise the likelihood of diabetes for both black and Chinese women, but adding some whole-grain foods may reverse the risk, researchers reported on Monday.

Two studies — the first to look at this aspect of diabetes risk in non-white women — both show that eating unrefined carbohydrates can boost rates of diabetes.  One of the studies published in the Archives of Internal Medicine showed that women who ate the most fiber had the lowest risk of diabetes.  And both support the theory of glycemic index, which holds that certain types of carbohydrates such as sugars and refined grains can cause a spike in blood sugar that damages the body’s ability to use insulin and process sugar.

For one study, Supriya Krishnan of the Boston University School of Public Health and colleagues studied more than 40,000 U.S. black women who filled out regular questionnaires every two years starting in 1995.  Over eight years, 1,938 of the women developed type 2 diabetes. The women who ate the most foods with a high glycemic index had a higher risk of diabetes.  But those who ate more fiber from whole grains had a lower risk. “Our results indicate that black women can reduce their risk of diabetes by eating a diet that is high in cereal fiber,” Krishnan’s team wrote.  Women who ate 5.9 grams of fiber a day or more had an 18 percent reduced risk of diabetes compared to the rest of the women, the researchers said.

“Incorporating fiber sources into the diet is relatively easy,” they added.  “A simple change from white bread to whole wheat bread or substituting a cup of raisin bran or oatmeal for a cup of corn Chex or rice Chex will move a person from a low fiber intake category to a moderate intake category, with a corresponding 10 percent reduction in risk.”  Plus, such whole grain foods have magnesium. which can lower blood pressure, they added.

For the second study, Raquel Villegas of Vanderbilt University in Nashville and colleagues followed a group of 64,000 Chinese women for an average of five years, interviewing them regularly about diet and other habits.  During the study, 1,608 of the women developed diabetes. Women who consumed more carbohydrates such as rice were more likely to develop diabetes.  Women who ate the most carbohydrates had a 28 percent higher risk of diabetes than the women who ate the least — and those who ate the most bread, noodles and rice were 78 percent more likely to develop diabetes than those who ate the fewest carbs.

“Given that a large part of the world’s population consumes rice and carbohydrates as the mainstay of their diets, these prospective data linking intake of refined carbohydrates to increased risk of type 2 diabetes mellitus may have substantial implications for public health,” Villegas and colleagues wrote.

(Reporting by Maggie Fox, editing by Will Dunham and Cynthia Osterman)

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Starches raise diabetes risk in Blacks and Chinese

  1. Sheldon says:

    White starches such as bread and rice are good only for burning fuel – With the advent of technology, humans do not burn that much fuel anymore (with the exception of excercise)  – I only eat "whole" grain foods such as brown rice and Brownberry breads – Raw vegetables, and I use my juicer to juice vegetables as well –
     
    Americans just don’t burn fuel like we used to. . . With the incidence of more and more people eating "processed" foods may contribute to higher levels of Diabetes as well –

  2. C. Rae White says:

    Sounds like you’re on the right track! I made the change to brown rice a year ago and It’s good. I used to eat it from time to time, but I was so hooked on that sticky white rice that I didn’t like the texture of brown rice.  I’ve never been much of a bread eater but, I got hooked on resturant bread for a while, now I just decline and wait for dinner.  I eat a large bowl of mixed fruit every morning with a little yogurt and granola. I haven’t been eating salads or exercising as much as I should…I guess I ‘d better get back with the program and soon.
     
    As I get older, I’m gonna have to continue to adjust my diet so that I stay healthy and vital. I’ve found that it’s harder to make myself exercise everyday like I use to.

  3. Sheldon says:

    Don’t forget to drink half of your body weight in water – So if you weigh 120lbs, drink 60oz of water a day –

  4. C. Rae White says:

    Yea, I try to drink at least 70 ounces a day! But, some days I only get about 40….still trying though.  Thanks for the reminder;)

  5. Chocolate Matters says:

    Well, I already eat oatmeal almost every day but I have yet to switch to brown rice. I could and have to no problem doing it.  After reading this it just might push me to do so.  I was eating whole wheat for a while and stopped.  Again I just may have to go back to it again.  I feel you Styln on the exercising thing.  I have been doing it regular for a while but other things like school and work have kept my regular exercise routine on hold.  I hope to get back on track soon.Definitely Sheldon I feel you on the water bit. It is the only thing I drink.  I put a little lemon juice as an incentive to drink more of it.  Very informative post, sister, very informative indeed. Thanks.

  6. Joelle says:

    Here I go again – odd man out.  I have never eaten "healthy".  I love Uncle Ben’s, eat nothing but white bread, and by the loaf sometimes, no . . . really.  I drink water during the summer, but rarely other than that.  I still eat pork, red meat, and despise just about anything that is supposed to be healthy.  Fortunately, and paradoxically, I am the picture of health – normal blood pressure, low to normal cholesterol, and no diabetic tendencies.  The human body is God’s temple, which means that we should be careful as to what we put in it.  But, with it being his temple, it is built solidly, and he also says that we can eat whatever we want as long as we don’t condemn ourselves for doing so.  I laud you all on being health conscious, and trust that you’ll keep up the good work, and I thank God that I am well.  Peace.

  7. Joelle says:

    Well, I can do all but the apple.  Raw apple make me nauseous.  I just hate to mess with a system that’s worked for all these years.  I will try.  Peace.

  8. C. Rae White says:

    Blackstarr: If you do nothing else…PLEASE…Drink lots of clean/filtered water everyday…to flush out all the processed/refine flour and surgar you may consume.  Also…PLEASE…Get a total body cleansing kit (like Smart Cleanse) every three months and use it to release all the toxins out of your body from the pork and beef you may consume on a regular basis.  One more thing…If you can tolerate it…Eat an apple everyday to flush the cholesterol from your body….PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE!!!!!!

  9. C. Rae White says:

    Great! Every little bit helps!

  10. Sheldon says:

    Styln – Here is a product that is on my blog Dr Jennifer Daniels and I started this product last fall and took one capsule a day for two weeks (with the morning meal) and 1 or 2 capsules a week for maintenance – What it does it will "un-cork" all of the "fecal" matter from the digestive track that takes years to build-up – All last winter I did not have a cold – In removing the build-up of the fecal matter that has no use for the body, all of the toxins can be "flushed" away to put it mildly –
     
    It sounds like BlackStarr has good genetics based on his previous post and as we get older we have to do maintenance as was discussed earlier – Peace –

  11. Joelle says:

    Age does change quite a few things.  I trust that my body will continue on the same course that it has through the years.  I’m blessed.  However, you two have inspired me and I will try some of the things that you suggest.  I used to take mutli-vitamins, but, I wasn’t seeing any difference in the way I felt.  I don’t feel sluggish or anything, it’s just that I know that some supplement is necessary.  I believe I’ll go back to the vitamins, and I just might try that "Cleanse Smart".  Thanks for this post, the advice, and the stern warnings.  I needed them all.  See you in space(s).  Peace.

  12. C. Rae White says:

    You’re right. As we age, we must detoxify our bodies on a regular basis to stay healty and to avoid disease.  People don’t realize that the same plaque that’s on our teeth and scalp is the same thing that clogs arteries and women’s wombs.  So heart disease, fibroids and cancer can be stopped through the cleansing of the bowel and the organs.
     
    Most Wholistic Doctors recommend that we fast at least one day a week, or four days in a row each month and seven days in a row every three months.  I don’t fast like I used to and I can feel the difference.  I do cleanse my entire system twice a year and it helps a lot (I’m working up to doing it every three months). 
     
    I use a 30 day cleansing product called Cleanse Smart. You take two herbal capsules each morning that clean your organs and then you take two digestive enzime capsules at night that clean your colon (kills parasites).  I just finished a 30 day cleanse today and I feel great!  I lost a few pounds and my skin looks pretty good!  I like Cleanse Smart because it’s easy and it isn’t messy (You don’t get sick and you’re not running to the toilet all the time).
     
    As Blacks, we suffer more from high blood pressure, heart disease, fibroids and cancer…..we must be proactive in taking better care of ourselves emotionally and physically. And, we must be better role models for our children…teaching them how to eat healthy and exercise on a regular basis.  We need to learn how to live healthier lifestyles which includes regular colon cleansing/detox.
     
    Thanks Sheldon your comment is great advice for us all!

Leave a Reply

