The Underground Railroad and the Legacy of Black Resistance | The Wright Museum, Detroit

 

I’m a descendant of the Underground Railroad.  A little more than a year ago, I was interviewed by my cousin regarding our ancestor Anthony Binga Sr.; who escaped slavery with my cousin’s 3rd great grandfather Daniel Binga Sr. and his immediate family, my 3rd great grandfather William W. Binga, other Binga family members and friends.

My interview is included with a body of other UGRR information on the new website, “The Struggle Against Slavery”.  I’m very excited to attend this upcoming event and to see the premier of the new website at the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History.

NOTE: The above photo on the left is of the Gen. James Taylor plantation/house where Anthony Binga’s immediate family was enslaved and very near there where the group embarked upon a 6 day journey to Canada and freedom.  The photo on the right is of Anthony Binga Sr. as a very old man.

UGRR-release-lrRelated Articles

In Honor of Black History Month 2012 | Virginia Slavery (A brief article about my ancestors Anthony Binga Sr. and Thomas B. Cotillier)

Ribs & Ragtime in Amherstburg Ontario (A trip to the annual Juneteenth celebration in Amherstburg)

Amherstburg First Baptist Church (A Windsor Star article including a description of the church established by my ancestor Anthony Binga Sr.)

Binga Row | Detroit Style Tenements (An article about the property owned by my 3rd great grandparents William W. and Adelphia Powers Binga.

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter. I'm a creative who loves working with my hands. I'm a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in African American History, Detroit, Family Research, Genealogy, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Underground Railroad and the Legacy of Black Resistance | The Wright Museum, Detroit

  1. Ryan Whirty says:

    Hi Ms. White,

    This might sound odd, but I’m a journalist and researcher who specializes in the Negro Leagues and other pre-integration African-American baseball. I’ve been researching a player named William H. Binga, who played just after the turn of the century for several teams and with many baseball greats. He is buried in an unmarked grave in Minneapolis, and a non-profit called the Negro League Baseball Grave Marker Project is in the process of placing a stone at his grave.

    I’ve been doing a great deal of research on Mr. Binga, and I’ve come across an entire set of Binga’s with roots in Virginia and Kentucky, and then in Detroit and Ontario, Canada. This group I’ve found includes the Revs. Anthony Binga Sr. and Jr., as well as wealthy banker Jesse Binga. I am currently trying to connect the William H. Binga baseball player with these other Bingas.

    If you could, please contact me, I would love to speak with you.

    Thank you very much,

    Ryan

  2. Wow! I am so excited for you Styln! You have really uncovered a lot of your history and now look you found ties to the Historic Underground Railroad. Way to go and do keep posting whatever interesting tidbits you find.

  3. Where you able to find the William H. Binga the baseball player in your tree?

    • C. Rae White says:

      I know of him, but I haven’t found the direct connection as of yet. I’m still confirming cousins through the Binga line. There were so many Binga’s in Canada, Detroit and New York it’s almost ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

