Oh Freedom, Oooooh Freedom, Oooh Freedom Over Me!

And The Slave Cried Ooh Freedom, Over Me!

In honor of Black History Month 2011, another step on our path toward freedom and equality. I’ve included a lynching map, the dotted areas show where lynchings (hate crimes against African Americans) occurred.  Also included are photos of lynchings and a lynching post card.

Check out the book, “Why is the Negro Lynched” by Frederick Douglass and a Crisis Magazine article “The Waco Horror“.

Source: Crisis Magazine February 1923, Copyright 1923, Crisis Magazine

Source: Crisis Magazine February 1922, Copyright 1922, Crisis Magazine

The Shame pf America, Crisis 1923 - 2

Source: Crisis Magazine February 1923, Copyright 1923, Crisis Magazine

Lynching Post Card, Crisis Magazine, 1912

About C. Rae White

I'm a proud 6th generation Detroiter, a creative who loves working with my hands and a fashion fanatic with a thing for shoes, bags and jewelry. I'm a family researcher who loves discovering the details of my ancestors lives. Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in African American History and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh Freedom, Oooooh Freedom, Oooh Freedom Over Me!

  1. chocolate says:

    my goodness from the map, the southern states are just blacked out they have so much lynching going on. I can still imagine the remains of those killed by mobs still in lakes and swamps down there.

  2. Styln says:

    You’ve got that right! I’m sure there were many more thousands of people murdered, who were not reported. It’s hard for me to imagine how this sort of thing continued to happen for soooooo long.

  3. I have nothing else to say about this except for
    THE LYNCH-MOB MENTALITY ANGERS ME TO NO END
    & I WILL NOT EVER BE STOPPED IN MY TRACKS BY THESE PEOPLE
    EVER AGAIN OR WILL I STOP TO FIGHT AGAINST THEY’RE STUPIDITY.

  4. I just became so emotional by the comment I just typed that I misspelled the word THEIR… actually NOTHING SHOULD BELONG TO THESE PEOPLE – NOT EVEN RIGHTS, BECAUSE LYNCHERS ARE NOTHING BUT DIRT & SHOULD BE STAMPED OUT BECAUSE “THEY ARE STUPID” & stupid is as stupid does!

  5. Styln says:

    I feel you! I’m glad things have changed. If only people could learn to love one another.

  6. ari says:

    i love this song…and i love my life: my friends, my family and my god!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

